Hold on.. Did Too Faced Cosmetics Just Shade Tarte Cosmetics?

Wait… what? For the non makeup obsessed, enter Jarrod Blandino, owner of Too Faced Cosmetics. Congrats on your #1 selling lipstick in Ulta, but this seems to be a bit more shady than just a humble brag. In case you haven’t been to Ulta recently, Tarte recently put out an entire collection of Unicorn themed products, palettes, brushes, the whole 9 yards. It’s gorgeous (I got my hands on some, so some reviews and videos of swatches are coming soon!) and a nice departure from the Amazonian collection that they’ve had permanently in their lineup. But, why post this to instagram then? Too Faced is claiming to be the originator of all things unicorn, but really, even that isn’t true. LimeCrime has been putting out Unicorn products for years now, as pointed out in Jeffree Star’s snapchat. This little stab claiming that Tarte is “copying” them really has clouded my opinion of the brand entirely.

The community that makeup enthusiasts live in is already messy enough with people who aren’t genuine, so to see a large brand acting this way is really repulsive to me. You’re the one in the spotlight, so you best be setting the example for everyone else. When you act like a princess, you give off the impression that that is how we are to treat each other in this community, and that is completely wrong.

So, will I be completing my Chocolate Bar palette collection as I was planning? I’m honestly not too sure. I don’t support this type of behavior, and I would rather spend my money on more ethical brands. Throwing others under the bus isn’t okay, Too Faced.

XOXO,

dsfjka

Leave a comment